Compare Before You Buy
Cleaning Tools
Kitchen Appliances
New Arrivals
Smart Home
Upgrade Your Home
Top Rated This Week
Bella 4 Slice Slim Toaster Review: The Space-Saving Catch
Shakib researches products using manufacturer documentation, manuals, specifications, retailer information, and independent sources. Unless stated otherwise, this is a research-based review—not a hands-on lab test. How we research.
Independent review. Product price and availability are confirmed on the retailer’s website.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links. We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Price and availability are subject to change.
The bella 4 slice slim toaster wins on one promise: two 9.9-inch slots in a 6.14-inch body. Here is where it earns the hype, and where it does not.
This review is built from bella's official instruction manual, live Amazon and retailer listings, and the patterns inside more than 20,000 ratings. Short version: a genuinely clever footprint, with trade-offs you need to know about first.
Quick Verdict: Who This Toaster Suits
Product images are original editorial illustrations
- Best for: shallow counters, galley kitchens, RVs, and sourdough households that refuse to cut their bread in half.
- Skip it if: you want a tank. This is a 3.4-pound, partly plastic appliance at a budget price, and longevity complaints are the loudest signal in the review data.
- Biggest strength: the footprint. A 6.14-inch depth with two 9.9-inch slots that swallow full sourdough slices and halves of bagels without trimming.
- Biggest weakness: durability. Of the roughly 890 Amazon review mentions tagged "durability," about 93% are negative, clustered around levers that stop latching and elements that quit on one side.
- Main trade-off: slim means shallow, not small. It still needs 15.28 inches of counter width, and the light body is the price of the shallow body.
What the bella 4-Slice Slim Toaster Actually Is
Product images are original editorial illustrations
The bella 4-Slice Slim Toaster (model 35248-016A in Plum, ASIN B0DQ6JKWB8) is part of bella's Fits-Anywhere™ kitchenware collection, made by SENSIO Inc., the housewares company behind the bella brand. "4-slice" here does not mean four slots. It means two long slots, each officially measured at 9.9 inches long and 1.3 inches wide, and each sized to hold two standard square slices side by side or one long slice of artisan bread laid flat.
That layout is the whole idea. A traditional four-slot toaster is roughly a square footprint; this one is a shallow rectangle. Per Amazon's product data it sits 6.14 inches deep, 15.28 inches wide, and 7.05 inches tall, so it hugs the wall instead of claiming the counter. bella markets the design as saving up to 50% more space than its prior similar models, and the sales results back the concept: as of September 2026 it is Amazon's #1 best seller in the Toasters category, #6 in all of Kitchen & Dining, with over 1,000 units bought in the past month.
Operating it is deliberately simple. One browning dial with six settings, three buttons (bagel, defrost, cancel), one high-lift lever, and a slide-out crumb tray. The listing rates it at 1400 watts. It ships in five bella colors (Oatmilk, Surf, Plum, Sea Glass, and Blossom), with a sixth, Slate, also appearing on Amazon. In the box: the toaster and its removable crumb tray. Nothing else.
| Specification | Verified detail |
|---|---|
| Brand / maker | bella (SENSIO Inc.) |
| Model (Plum) / ASIN | 35248-016A / B0DQ6JKWB8 |
| Slots | 2 long slots, each 9.9 in. long x 1.3 in. wide (fits 4 standard slices total) |
| Controls | 6-setting shade dial; bagel, defrost, cancel buttons; high-lift lever |
| Power | 1400W per Amazon spec sheet (see the wattage note below); 120V polarized plug |
| Dimensions | 6.14 in. D x 15.28 in. W x 7.05 in. H |
| Weight | 3.4 lb |
| Body | Metal and plastic, soft matte finish; removable crumb tray; cord wrap under base |
| Safety features | Anti-jam protection and auto shut-off per the Amazon listing; cool-touch exterior claimed |
| Warranty | 2-year limited (mechanical), 90 days non-mechanical, via SENSIO Inc. (see warranty note) |
| Price at review time | About $35 in Plum on Amazon (Sept. 2026); $33.99 to $39.99 across colors; $39.99 on bella's site. Check the current listing. |
| Amazon rating | 4.2 of 5, 20,821 ratings (pool spans the 2-slice and 4-slice versions) |
| First sold | 2024 (current generation as of September 2026; no successor model found) |
What Owners Report: The Strong and the Weak
Product images are original editorial illustrations
Start with the numbers, because they tell two stories at once. Amazon shows 4.2 stars across 20,821 ratings as of September 2026: 70% five-star, 9% four-star, and 11% one-star. That pool blends the 2-slice and 4-slice versions into one rating, and listings that rate only the 4-slice run higher: 4.5 stars at Best Buy (263 reviews) and 4.4 at Sam's Club (342 ratings).
The strength side is unambiguous. Amazon's review-summary widgets count about 1,300 mentions of space-saving, and 98% of them are positive. Roughly 1,800 appearance mentions are 97% positive, driven by the matte colors. The sourdough crowd is loud in a good way: owners repeatedly describe toasting full-length slices without cutting them, and several say it replaced long-slot Cuisinarts that burned the ends and left the middle pale.
The weak side has a shape, too. Durability is the worst-scored aspect in the data: of roughly 890 mentions, about 93% are negative. The recurring reports read like this: the lever stops locking down so the cycle never starts; or one side's heating element quits, so bread toasts on one face only. The timing clusters around the two-to-six-month mark, sometimes just past Amazon's 30-day return window. One owner replaced a failed unit with a second one that failed the same way; another reported sparking after a few months (a single report, not a pattern). One Walmart reviewer offered a theory worth knowing: at shade settings below 5, only some elements seemed to be running, which made toast slow and pale. That matches the broader split on performance, where about 60% of toasting mentions are positive and 40% report slow cycles, one-sided results, or uneven edges.
Balance that against the brand-level signals: Amazon tags bella as a top brand with 100K+ highly rated items, 100K+ orders in three months, and, notably, "low returns," meaning customers usually keep what they buy. And plenty of owners report problem-free years of daily use, including a family of six at the one-year mark. The honest read: most units are fine, the design pleases nearly everyone, and a real minority hits an early failure. Hold onto your receipt.
Key Features, Checked Against the Manual
Product images are original editorial illustrations
The footprint math
Depth is the spec that changes your counter: 6.14 inches front to back, versus roughly 8 to 11 inches for a typical long-slot rival. bella's own site quotes a 3.58-inch "profile" for the body, while Amazon's data lists the full 6.14-inch depth; measure against the bigger number to be safe. Height is 7.05 inches, which matters under cabinets. The catch is width: 15.28 inches, longer than most four-slice toasters are wide. You are trading depth for length, and that trade is only a win if your counter runs sideways more than it runs forward, or the appliance parks beside a fridge or in an appliance garage.
Two 9.9-inch slots, with one honest caveat
Nine point nine inches of slot length handles a full slice of sandwich-style sourdough, half a baguette laid flat, or Texas toast. But note the width figure from the manual: 1.3 inches. The marketing says "extra wide," yet several competitors offer 1.5 to 1.6-inch slots, and a 1.3-inch opening is close to standard. Halved bagels and thick rustic slices fit; an especially tall slice of dense rye may need a wiggle. The Amazon listing also mentions auto-centering guides that keep bread aligned against the elements; the manual's parts diagram doesn't name them, so treat that as a listing claim rather than a documented feature.
The controls: dial, bagel, defrost, cancel
Here is a detail worth more than most reviews give it: Amazon's own product description says the toaster has "Reheat and Cancel functions." That is wrong. The official manual, whose cover art shows the control panel, lists exactly three buttons: bagel, defrost, cancel. Best Buy's listing agrees. There is no reheat button; the manual's workaround for warm-but-not-toasted bread is to run a short second cycle at a low setting, watching so it doesn't burn. The functions that do exist are useful: defrost thaws and toasts frozen bread in one cycle (owners confirm it handles frozen waffles fine), bagel toasts the cut face when you load halves with the cut side facing the center, and cancel pops the bread at any moment. The dial's shade guide, straight from the manual: 1-2 light, 3-4 medium, 5-6 dark.
The high-lift lever
The lever lifts small items, English muffin halves especially, high enough to grab without tongs or burned fingertips. It is the feature owners mention unprompted, and it matters more on a long-slot machine, where a short muffin half can otherwise sink out of reach. The same owners note the lever feels light; a Reddit reviewer called it flimsy. On a $35 appliance, that is the trade you made.
Cleaning and cord storage
The crumb tray slides out from the bottom rear and the manual asks for a weekly empty under frequent use, which is the single best habit for toaster longevity and fire safety alike. The matte exterior wipes clean, and the cord wraps around clips under the base, a small thing that RV owners call out as a plus. One reviewer noted the cord exits the back rather than the front, which keeps it off the toast side of the counter.
The Spec-Sheet Confusion: Watts and Warranty
Product images are original editorial illustrations
Two "facts" on the Amazon listing do not survive contact with primary sources, and both matter to buyers.
Wattage. Amazon's structured spec sheet says 1400 watts, and Best Buy's listing, which runs bella's own retail copy, advertises a "1400 watt heating system." Yet Amazon's product description text says "900-watt toasting system." The 900 figure is the exact rating of bella's smaller 2-Slice Slim model, so the description reads like a copy-paste slip between variants. The manual lists no wattage at all. Trust 1400W, and know that wattage mostly predicts cycle speed, not build quality.
Warranty. Amazon's item details say "No warranty." The manual tucked in the box says otherwise: a limited two-year warranty from SENSIO Inc. covering mechanical defects, with 90 days for non-mechanical parts, for the original purchaser with proof of purchase. Claims start with a toll-free call (1-866-832-4843); if phone troubleshooting fails, you get a case number and ship the unit in. Not transferable, and it excludes misuse and normal wear. Given the early-failure reports above, that warranty is not fine print; it is your safety net: register the product and keep the receipt.
How It Compares to Other Long-Slot Toasters
Product images are original editorial illustrations
The two rivals buyers most often cross-shop are the Elite Gourmet ECT-3100, the classic budget long-slot pick, and Amazon's own Basics 4-slice, the default "just get a toaster" choice. Prices and ratings below are from September 2026 listings.
| Factor | bella 4-Slice Slim | Elite Gourmet ECT-3100 | Amazon Basics 4-Slice |
|---|---|---|---|
| Slot layout | 2 long slots, 9.9 in. | 2 long slots, 10 in. | 4 standard slots |
| Depth | 6.14 in. (the whole point) | Not specified; conventional footprint | Not specified; conventional footprint |
| Functions | Bagel, defrost, cancel | Reheat, defrost, cancel; warming rack per retailer listings | Bagel, defrost, cancel |
| Power | 1400W (listed) | Not listed | 1600W |
| Rating at review time | 4.2 of 5 (20,821, variant-blended) | 4.4 of 5 (1,853) | 4.4 of 5 (8,024) |
| Typical price | About $35 | About $35 | About $44 |
| One-line verdict | Buy it for the shallow body and long slots; accept the durability lottery | Similar price and slots, deeper body, adds reheat and a warming rack | Safe default if counter depth isn't your problem |
Choose the bella if depth is the constraint: it is the only one of the three designed to disappear against the wall. Choose the Elite Gourmet if you want the same long-slot idea with a reheat function and don't need the shallow body. Choose the Amazon Basics if you have the counter space and simply want four conventional slots with a strong rating history at a known price. Two other paths: the CUSIMAX long-slot (about $41 at review time) stretches slots to a listed 10.24 inches with nine shade settings for serious sourdough volume, and the KitchenAid KMT4116ER (about $160) is the premium long-slot upgrade with a keep-warm mode if this toaster's build quality worries you.
Where It Wins
- A 6.14-inch depth that genuinely frees counter space; about 98% of space-related owner mentions are positive.
- Two 9.9-inch slots that fit full sourdough slices, baguette halves, and Texas toast without cutting.
- Real defrost and bagel functions, even though Amazon's description mislabels them.
- Five-plus muted matte colors that owners buy on purpose, several to match cabinets or an RV interior.
- 3.4 pounds and a rear cord exit with under-base wrap: easy to stow, easy to travel with.
- #1 best seller in its category, four-star-plus at every major retailer tracked, with a low brand return rate on Amazon.
- A real 2-year limited warranty from SENSIO, stronger than the "no warranty" Amazon field suggests.
Where It Disappoints
- Durability mentions skew about 93% negative: lever-latch failures and one-sided element failures, often within two to six months.
- Uneven or one-sided toasting is the most common performance complaint, including a report that lower settings seem to run only some elements.
- Low settings can toast slowly and pale; some owners default to 5 or 6 and watch closely.
- Slot width is 1.3 inches, standard rather than "extra wide" next to 1.5-inch rivals.
- The light plastic body flexes and the exterior can warm in use, despite the cool-touch claim.
- No reheat button, no countdown display, no independent slot controls; one setting at a time.
- It is 15.28 inches wide, so tight galley counters need length, not just depth, to host it.
Who Should Buy the bella Slim Toaster
Product images are original editorial illustrations
Buy it if you rent or live somewhere the kitchen was an afterthought: studio apartments, accessory dwelling units, offices, dorm-adjacent setups. Owners with tiny kitchens and Airstream and RV travelers are this product's most satisfied customers, because a 6.14-inch body slides into spaces a normal toaster simply cannot. Buy it, too, if you eat long-artisan-slice bread regularly; at this price nothing else fits a 9-inch sourdough slice as cleanly. And buy it if you want the counter to look considered: the matte Plum or Oatmilk next to the matching bella waffle maker and can opener is a real aesthetic pull.
Who Should Skip It
Skip it if you toast for a household every single day and expect a decade of service; the failure reports are a minority, but they are the loudest signal in the data, and the light build doesn't argue otherwise. Skip it if you need four slices with different settings at the same time; two slots and one dial can't do that, and a dual-control model like the Amazon Basics or a premium long-slot like the KitchenAid KMT4116ER suits you better. Skip it if you have depth to spare and width to protect, since the bella's shape is the opposite trade. And if perfectly even browning at every shade is non-negotiable, the review data says this isn't your machine.
Buying Guide: What to Check Before You Order
Product images are original editorial illustrations
Measure first, in both directions. Verify 6.14 inches of depth (plus cord clearance), 15.28 inches of width, and 7.05 inches of height under any cabinet. Retailers list slightly different figures for this model (Macy's shows slightly larger numbers, likely packaging), so plan against the bigger figure.
Color changes the price. At review time the same toaster ran $33.99 in Oatmilk, $35.38 in Plum, and up to $39.99 in Blossom, Sea Glass, or Slate, versus $39.99 flat on bella's own site. If you're flexible on color, the cheapest shade saves a few dollars; confirm the current price before judging any deal.
Don't confuse the size variants. The 2-Slice Slim on the same Amazon page is a different machine: bella lists it at 900 watts with a single long slot, and owners report it lacks the defrost button. If you want the full bagel-defrost-cancel set, the 4-slice is the one that has it, and its rating pool is the one that blends both models.
Set up the warranty on day one. Keep the receipt, scan the manual's QR code or register at bella's site, and save the toll-free number (1-866-832-4843). Amazon's "No warranty" line is wrong; your coverage is the manual's 2-year limited warranty, but only with proof of purchase. Amazon offered free returns on this listing at review time, and optional Asurion protection plans from about $6 if you want coverage beyond the manufacturer's.
Price-compare across retailers. bella sells through Amazon, Target, Walmart, Costco, Macy's, JCPenney, Kroger, Fred Meyer, and Best Buy, and reviews show buyers sometimes catching it below Amazon's list at Sam's Club and Walmart.
Expert Tips for bella Slim Toaster Owners
Product images are original editorial illustrations
- Burn it off before the first toast. The manual warns of manufacturing residue or oil that can smell on first use, and some owners found fine black dust inside. Run it empty once on a mid setting, let it cool, then start toasting.
- Load bagels cut side toward the center before pressing the bagel button; the manual says this concentrates heat on the cut face, and it works for English muffins too.
- Calibrate your dial expectations. Start at 3 for sandwich bread. If low settings toast slow and pale for you, you're not imagining it; move up a notch rather than re-toasting twice, and keep an eye on the top settings, where some owners see uneven edges.
- Respect the no-go list. No pastries with runny fillings, no buttered bread, no torn slices, no mini-baguettes or breadsticks that can wedge; if something jams, unplug before you poke. Toaster pastries get the lightest setting, per the manual.
- Empty the crumb tray weekly if you toast often, and seat it fully before the next cycle. On wood veneer or finished counters, put a non-plastic mat under the feet; the manual's plasticizer warning says direct contact can mark some finishes.
- If one side stops toasting, act fast. That's an element failure, not a setting problem. Within Amazon's return window, return it. Afterward, call the warranty line with your receipt; a replacement is what the 2-year coverage is for.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the bella 4 slice slim toaster have a bagel setting?
Yes. The control panel has a dedicated bagel button, confirmed by the official manual and Best Buy's listing, even though Amazon's bullet points only mention cancel. Load bagel halves with the cut sides facing the center of the slot, press the button, and the machine concentrates browning on the cut face while the crust side gets gentler heat. The manual notes the same setting works well for English muffins.
Does the bella slim toaster have a defrost button?
On the 4-slice model, yes. The defrost button thaws and toasts frozen bread in a single cycle, per the manual, and owners confirm it handles frozen waffles and bread straight from the freezer. Note the variant trap: the smaller 2-Slice Slim is listed with different specs (900 watts), and at least one owner of that model reports it has no defrost button, so if frozen waffles are routine, the 4-slice is the safer pick.
Is there a reheat button on the bella slim toaster?
No, despite Amazon's product description mentioning "Reheat and Cancel functions." The manual shows exactly three buttons: bagel, defrost, and cancel. There is no dedicated reheat. The manual's approach to under-toasted bread is a short second cycle at a low setting, with a warning to watch so the bread doesn't burn. If a reheat button matters to you, the Elite Gourmet ECT-3100 includes one at a similar price.
Why does my bella slim toaster only toast one side?
The reports split into two kinds. Some owners describe slow, pale results at low settings, and at least one Walmart reviewer observed the elements only seem to run fully on settings 5 and 6; if that's yours, dial up and see whether both faces brown. The other kind is a hardware failure: one side's element quits entirely, so bread stays untoasted on one face no matter the setting. That's a known failure pattern in the review data, typically within the first year. If it happens, cancel the cycle, unplug, and use the warranty (1-866-832-4843) or Amazon's return window; flipping the bread manually gets old fast.
How many watts does the bella 4 slice slim toaster use?
Treat 1400 watts as the real figure. Amazon's structured spec sheet says 1400W, and Best Buy's listing, using bella's retail copy, calls it a 1400-watt heating system. Amazon's description paragraph saying "900 watts" matches the rating of bella's 2-Slice Slim model and appears to be a copy error between variants. The manual itself doesn't state a wattage, only a 120V outlet requirement. For context, the Amazon Basics 4-slice runs 1600W, and more watts mostly mean faster cycles, not better toast.
Will the bella slim toaster fit a full slice of sourdough?
Usually, yes. Each slot is 9.9 inches long, which handles most full-length sandwich slices from a standard loaf, and sourdough owners are among the product's happiest customers. Two honest limits: an oversized slice from a wide boule can still exceed the slot, and the slot opening is 1.3 inches wide, so a very thick slab may need a wiggle or a trim on one edge. For scale, the CUSIMAX long-slot lists 10.24-inch slots if you need the extra length.
Is the bella slim toaster good for an RV or camper kitchen?
It's one of the best-reviewed uses for it. RV and Airstream owners show up repeatedly in the review data, praising the 6.14-inch depth, the 3.4-pound weight for stowing while driving, and the rear cord exit with under-base wrap. It runs on standard 120V shore power. The manual marks it for household use and advises unplugging between uses, which suits RV life anyway.
What warranty does the bella slim toaster have?
A limited two-year warranty from SENSIO Inc., the brand's parent company, despite Amazon's item details field saying "No warranty." It covers mechanical defects in materials and workmanship for two years from purchase, and non-mechanical parts for 90 days. It's valid only for the original retail purchaser, isn't transferable, and requires the sales receipt. Claims start with a phone call to 1-866-832-4843; if troubleshooting fails, you'll get a case number and return instructions.
Is the 2-slice or 4-slice bella slim toaster the better buy?
For one or two people who rarely toast, the 2-Slice Slim at $24.99 does the same trick in a smaller package, and bella lists it at 900 watts. For everyone else, the 4-slice justifies the extra $10: two 9.9-inch slots (four slices at once), the full bagel-defrost-cancel button set, 1400 watts of listed power, and higher standalone ratings at Best Buy and Sam's Club than the blended Amazon average suggests.
Is the bella slim toaster fast, or does it toast slowly?
It depends on the setting. At mid and high settings, most owners describe quick, normal cycles, and a 1400-watt rating is respectable for the class. At settings 1 through 4, a meaningful minority of owners report slow, under-browned cycles, with one reviewer noting the elements only seemed fully active at 5 and 6. If your first slices come out pale, move the dial up a notch rather than assuming the toaster is broken; if speed and evenness stay bad on high settings, that unit is a candidate for return or warranty service.
Final Verdict
Product images are original editorial illustrations
The bella 4-Slice Slim Toaster is the right toaster for a specific problem: a counter too shallow for a real one. Nothing near its price matches the 6.14-inch body with 9.9-inch slots, the colors are a genuine pleasure, and the manual-verified bagel, defrost, and cancel functions cover the basics honestly. Buy it with eyes open: the durability complaints are real and concentrated in the first year, so register the two-year warranty the day it arrives and keep the receipt. If you need a do-everything workhorse for a big household, spend up; if you need toast in a tight kitchen, this is the one to beat.
Reviews